Speeding tickets and traffic violations can lead to points assessed on your license, fees and higher insurance rates. Even though it may seem like the easiest option, by paying a fine you could be admitting to guilt which could have more long-term affects, like increases to your insurance premium. Before making any decisions following a traffic offense in Florida, it’s important to speak with a qualified attorney to understand your options and protect your rights.
- Option 1: Pay the fine and receive points on your license. This option will likely lead to an increase in your insurance rates. Some insurance companies are increasing rates up to 22% for traffic tickets.
- Option 2: Go to driving school.
- Option 3: Hire an attorney and defend your rights.
If you are also dealing with a criminal charge, a lawyer is necessary.
The Florida State License Point System
- Receive 12 points in 12 months, your license is suspended for 30 days.
- Receive 18 points in 18 months, your license is suspended for 3 months.
- Receive 24 points in 36 months, your license is suspended for 1 year.
How To Contest A Traffic Violation?
By consulting with a lawyer, you can contest the traffic offense and get the points removed or reduced from your driving record. Your license may be saved and a clean record will help you save money on insurance rates.
What Leads To A Suspended License?
If you do not pay your traffic tickets your license is subject to suspension. A traffic ticket must be paid or driving school must be elected by day 31 of issuance of the ticket. The clerk of the court will be notified of the delinquent ticket and your license then will be subjected to suspension.
The DMV has the authority to suspend a license that is not covered by automobile insurance.
If the are more than the required points on your license, suspension is possible.
Commercial Driver Traffic Violations
Depending upon your violation, you may have your license temporarily or permanently suspended. A major violation could carry a one year suspension. A second major violation could result in your license being revoked for a lifetime. Examples of major violation are DUI, refusal of a breath test, leaving the scene of an accident, or using a commercial vehicle to commit a felony.
Speeding violations will not suspend your CDL license if it is a first offense. However, a second traffic violation within three years could lead to a CDL license being revoked for 60 days. A third traffic violation within three years would result in a 120 day revokation of your license.
Factors that can revoke your CDL while driving your own vehicle:
A DUI while driving a personal vehicle can lead to a suspension of your CDL license. More than one DUI will result in your CDL license being revoked for life.
Speeding violations with a personal license can also revoke a CDL license up to 120 days.
All traffic violations personal or commercial must be reported to your employer within a 30 day period of the conviction.
Contact an Experienced Speeding Ticket and Traffic Attorney
An experienced attorney can help and advise you on the best course of action to contest your traffic violation. Orlando Defense attorney Chad Frost will work to protect your rights and driving privileges. Don’t wait, call Frost Law today for your free consultation.
Learn More About Other Traffic Violations We Defend Against:
Driving With A Suspended License