According to the Florida law, if you operate a motor vehicle with a Blood Alcohol Content of 0.08% or higher, you are driving under the influence. However, this does not mean that you can only be arrested for DUI if you have been drinking alcohol. If you drive a vehicle after having used some chemical or controlled substance like cocaine, you can also be arrested for DUI.
The consequences of getting arrested for DUI in Florida can be very severe and you could be slapped with some hefty punishments. If you refuse to submit yourself to a breathalyzer test law, enforcement will confiscate your license.
Even if you are a first time offender, you may lose your drivers’ license when you are first arrested for DUI. However, the length of time your license will be suspended after the initial arrest varies depending on a number of factors.
First DUI Offense
As a first-time DUI offender, your license could be suspended between 180 days to 1 year. To reinstate your license, you would be required to pay a fee of $45 if your license was suspended, or $75 if your license was revoked.
Second DUI Offense
As a second offender, the period for which your license could be suspended depends on the following:
- If your second DUI was not committed within 5 years of the past offense, you could have your license suspended for 180 days to 1 year.
- If the second offence was committed within 5 years of the first DUI offense, your license could be suspended for up to 5 years.
You would also have to pay to have your license reinstated and the fee varies the same, depending on whether the license was suspended or revoked.
Third DUI Offense
A DUI arrest for a third offense brings with it much stiffer penalties.
- If your last DUI was not committed within 10 years of the third offense, you could get off with having your license suspended for 180 days to 1 year.
- If your second offense was committed within 5 years of the third offence, your license could be suspended for up to 5 years.
- If all three of your DUI charges were committed within the past 10 years, your license can be suspended for up to 10 years.
Fourth or Subsequent DUI Offense
A fourth DUI or subsequent offense attracts suspension or revocation of your drivers’ license for up to 5 years.
How Can An Orlando DUI Attorney Help?
Having your driver’s license suspended or revoked can have serious consequences. This means that you will be barred from driving for the duration of the suspension or revocation. However, a skilled DUI attorney can help you apply for a hardship license if needed and work to create a defense to fight your DUI charge. Frost Law represents clients facing felony and misdemeanor charges like DUI, Driving With a Suspended License, Reckless Driving, and other Traffic Violations. Get help from an experienced trial attorney and former state prosecutor. Call (407) 670-5569 for a free consultation today.